Spanish basketball: Edy Tavares, MVP of the League last

Actual Madrid centre Edy Tavares was picked MVP, ‘Best Player’, of the ultimate ‘Playoff’ of the Endesa League, decisive and unstoppable in the fourth sport that gave the Whites the title, with 25 details, 13 rebounds and 41 credits of valuation.

The participant from Cape Verde had been producing good figures in the qualifying rounds on the way to the title and in the remaining he recovered that total dominance that makes him a player devoid of a rival in Europe. Tavares averaged 13.2 factors, 6.2 rebounds and a PIR of 20 in the finals.

Tavares, who signed with Serious Madrid in 2017, becomes the eighth white player with this award, since it started to be awarded in 1991: Sabonis (1993 and 1994), Angulo (2000), Bullock (2005), Felipe Reyes (2007 and 2013), Llull (2015 and 2016), Rudy Fernández (2018) and Campazzo (2019).

As a Madrid participant, the Cape Verdean middle lifts his ninth title, third League following those of 2018 and 2019. In addition, his document includes a Copa del Rey, 4 Spanish Super Cups and a Euroleague.

On an person level, the MVP in these finals of the 2021/22 year joins his presence in the Endesa League Most effective Quintet (2019 and 2021), two in the second (2020 and 2022), and the recognition for Finest Defender of the Endesa League in 2021 and 2022.



1990-1991 Corny Thompson (Montigalá Joventut).

1991-1992 Mike Smith (Montigalá Joventut).

1992-1993 Arvydas Sabonis (Authentic Madrid Teka).

1993-1994 Arvydas Sabonis (Actual Madrid Teka).

1994-1995 Mike Ansley (Unicaja).

1995-1996 Javier Fernández (FC Barcelona BC).

1996-1997 Roberto Dueñas (FC Barcelona BC).

1997-1998 Joan Creus (TDK Manresa).

1998-1999 Derrick Alston (FC Barcelona).

1999-2000 Alberto Angle (Genuine Madrid Sale).

2000-2001 Pau Gasol (FC Barcelona).

2001-2002 Elmer Bennett (Tau Ceramics).

2003-2004 Dejan Bodiroga (FC Barcelona).

2004-2005 Louis Bullock (Authentic Madrid).

2005-2006 Jorge Garbajosa (Unicaja).

2006-2007 Felipe Reyes (Authentic Madrid).

2007-2008 Pete Mickeal (AXA FC Barcelona).

2008-2009 Juan Carlos Navarro (Regal FC Barcelona).

2009-2010 Tiago Splitter (Labor Fund).

2010-2011 Juan Carlos Navarro (FC Barcelona Regal).

2011-2012 Erazem Lorbek (FC Barcelona Regal).

2012-2013 Felipe Reyes (Real Madrid).

2013-2014 Juan Carlos Navarro (FC Barcelona).

2014-2015 Sergio Llull (Authentic Madrid).

2015-2016 Sergio Llull (Genuine Madrid).

2016-2017 Bojan Dubljevic (Valencia Basket).

2017-2018 Rudy Fernandez (Actual Madrid).

2018-2019 Facu Campazzo (Serious Madrid).

2019-2020 Luca Vildoza (Kirolbet Baskonia).

2020-2021 Nikola Mirotic (Barça).

2021-2022 Edy Tavares (Actual Madrid).

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

You may also like